An Infamous Day 70 Years Ago

My moms bought me the exact replica of the newspaper about the day of the attack from her trip to Hawaii 6 years ago. I was supposed to go with her and my siblings there, but I turned it down cause I didn’t want to miss a week of school since I haven’t missed a day during Junior year. I would’ve gone any other year, but the 2004-05 year was my best academic year ever in grade school.

December 7, 1941 is one of the very important days in this country, along with John F. Kennedy’s assassination on November 23, 1963, the attack on the World Trade Center bombings in New York  and the Pentagon in Washington D.C. on September 11, 2001 and, non-tragic wise, Barack Obama elected President of the United States on November 4, 2008. The United States was two different worlds, industrial wise, before and after this tragic event, which lead the country into World War II against Japan. Probably one the most epic events in the 20th Centruy that I ever learned back in grade school. So much happened, from the draft, to the concentration camps for Japanese-Americans, to car manufactures shutting down  production to build military combat machines, to Frankin D. Roosevelt’s recognition getting praised a lot more, to the construction of super nuclear weapons in the Atomic Bomb, which forced Japan to surrender, and the start of a new lifestyle for both countries.

I would cite these from various websites, but this is from knowledge that I learned about that day and the ramifications that it caused between Japan and the United States that I was thought over the years in school. Plus, I’m also REALLY infatuated with US History.

Leave a Reply

